Monday morning hurts

13 Jun

If you’ve ever put petrol in a diesel car you’ll know how my legs felt this morning.

Egged on by twitter power from @alanjslater @Runningthetube @kaz_wright I made an uncharacteristic morning gym visit.

Hopping on the treadmill I was feeling pretty smug – look at me eating healthy breakfast and exercising BEFORE work.

Only the exercising part didn’t go so well due to shin-splinty legs and a weird pain in my thighs.

I don’t quite know what went wrong, but it really was painful and I decided to stop running before I did some damage, instead walking 3k just so I didn’t feel like the whole trip had been a waste.

That made the legs feel a lot more normal, so I had a bit of a crosstrainer session as it meant no pounding my bones into the floor.

I still feel cheated though – all that effort to get there and all legs can do is splutter to an undignified stop.

This is either (a) due to the fact I never run in the morning and my body was in shock, (b) I have been working too many crazy late shifts at work and need to calm things down or (c) I’m a person who doesn’t exercise enough trying to exercise everyday.

A, B or C? I think I know the answer…

2 Responses to “Monday morning hurts”

  1. Steve June 13, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Definitely not C… mostly because A & B give a much more optimistic outlook for tomorrow! If it makes you feel any better I’m having trouble with the shins too, though likely for different reasons. I think you just have to ease back and do what you can-am sure the shins will calm down. Keep it up-today was a great effort!

  2. mike June 17, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    It was probably all of the above.
    There’s ups and downs, ride them out or give your body a break. Either way it’s the right decision.

Leave a Reply

