Puppy power!

10 Jun

I don’t normally warm up – I just zoom out the door before I can change my mind.

But today was different because Hettie the new puppy was refusing to go to sleep in her cage (a short-term measure until she learns that chewing furniture is not acceptable) which meant I couldn’t leave the house until she’d stopped yowling. The neighbours don’t like yowling.

She’s not old enough to come with me on runs – her final vaccination is next week – so the only thing for it was to chase her around the garden in the hope I’d tire her out.

Effective…eventually.

Legs stretched thanks to Hettie I hit the road. I was aiming for six miles, but came a bit short as the last stretch was an unpleasant slog.

I wasn’t too hard on myself, as yesterday was a crazy day that started at 6am and involved a stupid train journey, a late shift at work which went on until midnight and someone calling in sick – these things happen. I interviewed David Morrissey, took lots of calls about a factory fire and mopped up what felt like a zillion other odds and sods before the paper went to press on time – just.

David Morrisseyy

David Morrissey

In fact about the only thing yesterday’s enormous to-do list didn’t involve was a Juneathon run – but that was due to a complete lack of time, not motivation.

Also as today’s is the longest of Juneathon so far, and therefore a success, I figure today can count for yesterday too?

When I got back Hettie helped me to stretch by chewing my shoelaces and sitting on my stomach as I tried to pull my knees into my chest.

Distance: 5.234miles
Time: 00:50:00
Pace: 09:33
Amount of time you can be angry with a naughty puppy: 00:00:03

2 Responses to “Puppy power!”

  1. John June 10, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Hettie is very cute. Don’t Cocker Spaniels have a reputation for chewing though? At least when she can run with you, it’ll use up some of that energy they are also renowned for.

  2. mike June 11, 2011 at 3:16 am #

    It sounds like your puppy may have instilled the value of a proper warmup, given your results.

    You can absolutely spread out your miles to days you missed. Or you can just push forward into Julyathon to make up the difference.

    And to clarify, I did not run in the hailstorm yesterday. Had I known with certainty that it was approaching, I would have.

    Good luck with Juneathon Day 11.

Leave a Reply

